Town of Copper Cliff

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Town of Copper Cliff

Parallel form(s) of name

    Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

      Other form(s) of name

        Identifiers for corporate bodies

        Description area

        Dates of existence



        The Town of Copper Cliff was incorporated on April 15, 1901 with the Ontario Statutes 1901, Chapter 51. Prior to this time, the area known as Copper Cliff was located within the Townships of McKim and Snider which were surveyed by Provincial Land Surveyor Francis Bolger in 1883.

        As an incorporated municipality, the Town of Copper Cliff had a council consisting of an elected mayor and six councillors. The Town was responsible for the upkeep of the local road system and the delivery of services including fire protection, policing, water and sewage. The Town of Copper Cliff controlled the regulation of land and local administration through by-laws. It had the ability to raise money through direct taxation on land and through the use of debentures.

        In 1933, Lot 1, Concession 1 of the Township of Snider was annexed by the Town of Copper Cliff with the consent of the Ontario Municipal Board. The South ½ of Lot 11, Concession 3 of the Township of McKim was officially annexed under the Ontario Municipal Board to the Town of Copper Cliff in 1943. During the following two decades, the Ontario Municipal Board considered amalgamating Copper Cliff with the City of Sudbury but amalgamation did not actually occur until January 1st, 1973 under the Regional Municipality of Sudbury Act.

        Former Mayors of the Town of Copper Cliff include:

        Thomas Nicol Kilpatrick 1902
        W.C. Kilpatrick 1903 – 1904
        Fred Hamilton 1905
        J.R. McKinnon 1906 – 1908
        George Ralph Craig 1909 – 1913
        George Ernest Silvester 1914 – 1917
        E.T. Corkill 1918 – 1919
        George Ralph Craig 1920 – 1929
        Everett Alfred Collins 1930 – 1946
        William Tolbert Waterbury 1947 – 1953
        Charles Orville Maddock 1954 – 1955
        Richard Ross Saddington 1956 – 1958
        Richard Godfrey Dow 1959 – 1972


        Legal status

        Functions, occupations and activities

        Mandates/sources of authority

        Internal structures/genealogy

        General context

        Relationships area

        Access points area

        Subject access points

        Place access points


        Control area

        Authority record identifier


        Institution identifier

        Rules and/or conventions used


        Level of detail

        Dates of creation, revision and deletion




            Maintenance notes